Saturn

Finally woke up early enough to see Saturn. It was pretty. At first the shadow of the planet across the rings looked backwards to me, isn’t the sun to the left of Saturn? Duh, the scope reverses the view, amazing I’m still having a hard time with that. Anyway it looked great, particularly at 160x with the 7.5mm eyepiece. I tried doubling that with the Barlow but too fuzzy. Also saw Titan. Very small and faint, but visible. Didn’t particularly try to see the Cassini division but I don’t think I could have.

Unrelated, but my left eye seems to see better than my right eye. It’s also my dominant eye. But I reflexively squint my left eye closed and look through the right eye, it’s what I’ve always done. I can’t even really squint just the right eye closed reliably. But when I think to switch to my left eye suddenly I can see everything better, it’s kind of nice.

 

